City/School Election Results in Hancock County

Rebecca Peter

(Editor’s Note: This story has been updated to include the results of winners by write-in ballot  for city council positions at Corwith, Britt, Klemme, Goodell, and  for the Director District 5 seat on the West Hancock Board of Education. Certified election result for Hancock County are also available on the Iowa Secretary of State website: )


There will be new mayors at Britt, Kanawha and Goodell, according to the results of the Nov. 7 City Council and School Board elections. The Hancock County Board of Supervisors canvassed the election results on Monday afternoon.

The outcome of elections where the mayor, city council seats or school board seats were determined by write-in vote were unavailable as of The Leader’s noon deadline on Monday. Those results and will be reported in the Nov. 22 Leader. 


Judy Vander Ploeg will be the new mayor of Kanawha. Vander Ploeg received 65 votes in the election. 

Mathieu Lemay and Ray Bassett were both reelected to the Kanawha City Council. Lemay was the top vote-getter with 61 votes. Forty-six votes were cast for Bassett.

Other candidates for city council received the following vote totals: Shirley Baker - 45 and Brandon Douglas – 34. 


Matt Hobscheidt was re-elected to another term as mayor of Corwith. Hobscheidt received 49 votes. 

Voters elected three to the council. Michelle Hankins and Michele Garman were re-elected. Hankins received 41 votes and Garman 35 votes. Kimberly Mullenbach will be a new member on the Corwith City Council. Thirty-nine votes were cast for Mullenbach.

Candidate Sharon Spellins received 32 votes. Eight votes were cast for Tracie Foley.

Dave Wagner was elected to fill a 2-year term on the Corwith City Council. Wagner received 24 write-in votes.


Jim L. Nelson was elected mayor of Britt with 313 votes.

There will be new faces on Britt City Council as well. Todd Hildman and Jefrey Moore were elected to the council with 229 and 261 votes, respectively.

Angela Nelson was elected to a third at-large position on the city council with 138 write-in votes

In addition, Curt Gast received 46 write-in votes to fill a vacancy on the council. Gast is a current member on the Britt City Council.


Two at-large council seats were on the ballot at Garner. Glen Juhl and Marline Lewerke were both re-elected. A total 157 votes were cast for Juhl and 158 for Lewerke.


Ken Blank was reelected Mayor of Klemme  with 17 write-in votes.

Two seats on the Klemme City Council were on the ballot. Voters reelected Tim Jergenson to another term with 26 votes. Nichol M. Winters is the newcomer on the council. Winters received 28 votes.


Barbara Schaefer will be the new mayor of Goodell. Schaefer received 20 votes in the election. 

Two at-large positions for city council were on the ballot.Alan Pralle was re-elected to another term with 30 votes.

Travis Nolte was elected to the second council seat with 10 write-in votes.

Crystal Lake

Shawn Dontje was reelected to another term as mayor. Thirty-seven votes were cast for Dontje. 

Voters elected three to the city council. They are: Laura Blocker (33 votes), Duane Harms (39 votes) and Loretta Oudekerk (41 votes).


PaulBuns was re-elected mayor of Woden with 34 votes.

Dylan Brandt and Tip Piper were re-elected to the city council. Thirty for votes were cast for Brandt. Piper received 36 votes.

Andrew Plessel also received 36 votes to fill a vacancy on the Woden City Council.




Kim Upmeyer was re-elected to a second term on the Garner-Hayfield-Ventura Board of Education. Upmeyer received 334 votes.

Laura Schleusner will be the new member on the board. Schleusner received 297 votes.

West Hancock

At-Large Director - Jennifer Bixel was re-elected to the at-large director seat on the board with 540 votes. 

Director District 2 – Jeremy Purvis will join the West Hancock board as District 2 Director. A total 534 votes were cast for Purvis.

Director District 4 – Kevin Wilson was re-elected to the Director District 4 seat with 548 votes.

Director District 5 – For the Director District 5 seat, Connie Swanson was the apparent winner with 62 write-in votes.


Unofficial results for school elections at Belmond-Klemme are as follows:

Director District 1 – Ryan Meyer – 368

Director District 2 – Write-in – 94 Votes

Director District 3 – James R. Swenson - 340

Director District 5 – Write in – 113

Director At-Large – Michelle D. Murphy – 217, Marc Schlichting – 143

Public Measure – 270 Yes, 82 No




The Leader

The Leader 
365 State Street, Garner, IA 50438
Phone: 1-641-923-2684
Fax: 1-800-340-0805

Mid-America Publishing

This newspaper is part of the Mid-America Publishing Family. Please visit for more information.