Thompson wins GOP primary for Iowa House; Greiman, Rayhons survive primary challenge

Rebecca Peter

Mark Thompson of Clarion won the GOP nomination for the new District 56 seat in the Iowa House of Representatives, according to unofficial results of the June 7 Primary Election.

Former Britt mayor, Jim Nelson, carried the vote in Hancock County, however, Thompson prevailed over Nelson in Wright and Humboldt Counties.

The unofficial district vote totals are as follows:

Hancock – Thompson – 597; Nelson - 771

Wright  - Thompson – 906; Nelson - 148

 Humboldt - Thompson – 547; Nelson – 168

Supervisors Gary Rayhons and Sis Greiman, survived a GOP primary challenge from Gary Rockow.

Gary Rayhons, who is completing his first term on county board, was the top vote-getter with 1,028 votes. Sis Greiman is in her 5th term on the board. Greiman received 894 votes. A total 583 votes were cast for challenger Gary Rockow.

There were no candidates for supervisor on the Democratic ballot.

The only other race for county office was the GOP nomination for county treasurer. Incumbent Deborah Engstler won the GOP nomination over challenger Lisa Crawford. The unofficial totals are: Engstler – 914; Crawford – 497.

Engstler will face independent candidate Linda Juhl in the November general election. Juhl was nominated by petition.

Recorder Tracy Marshall and County Attorney Blake Norman were unchallenged for their respective nominations in the GOP primary. Marshall received 1,310 votes and Norman, 1,260 votes.

There were no candidates listed on the Democratic ballot for Treasurer, Recorder or County Attorney.

Primary Election Results

Unofficial results from the 2022 Primary Election in Hancock County are listed below. The Hancock County Board of Supervisors canvassed the election on Monday.

According to the Iowa Secretary of State’s office, a total 1,757 ballots (about 22.60% of registered voters) were cast during the primary election in Hancock County.

Republican Party

*Will be the party nominee for the November general election.

U.S. Senate - Senator Grassley – 846*; Jim Carlin – 601.

U.S. Representative, District 4 - Randy Feenstra -1,296* 

Governor of Iowa - Kim Reynolds - 1,366*

Secretary of State – Paul D. Pate – 1,287*

Auditor of State – Todd Halbur – 550*; Mary Ann Hanusa – 643. 

Treasurer of State – Roby Smith – 1,224*

Secretary of Agriculture – Mike Naig - 1,279*

Attorney General – Brenna Bird – 1,232*

Democratic Party

*Will be the party nominee for the November general election.

U.S. Senate – Abby Finkenauer – 137; Michael Franken – 119*; Glenn Hurst – 19.

U.S. Representative - Ryan Melton – 260*

Governor - Deidre DeJear – 265*

Secretary of State – Joel Miller – 193*; Eric Van Lancker – 65

Auditor of State – Rob Sand – 266*

Treasurer of State – Michael L. Fitzgerald – 267*

Secretary of Agriculture – John Norwood – 257*

Attorney General – Tom Miller – 267*




The Leader

The Leader 
365 State Street, Garner, IA 50438
Phone: 1-641-923-2684
Fax: 1-800-340-0805

Mid-America Publishing

This newspaper is part of the Mid-America Publishing Family. Please visit for more information.