June 4 Primary Election – Who’s on the ballot?

Rebecca Peter
The Iowa Primary Election will be held on Tuesday, June 4. Polls in Hancock County and elsewhere in Iowa will be open 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. A notice of election was published in the May 22 edition of The Leader.
 Voters are reminded that they will be required to show a valid form of identification at the polls before receiving and casting a ballot. Voters who are not pre-registered – such as voters registering to vote on Primary Election day – and voters changing precincts must also provide proof of residence. More information on voter id is on https://sos.iowa.gov/voterid.
For all other questions regarding voting on Primary Election Day, contact the Hancock County Auditor’s Office at 641-923-3163 or https://elections.hancockcountyia.gov/. You may also refer to the following website regarding Primary elections: https://voterready.iowa.gov.
County Supervisor
One position on the Hancock County Board of Supervisors expires in 2024. On the Republican ballot, there are two candidates: Osmund “Bud” Jermeland, Forest City, and Josh Crawford, Garner. Voters will elect 1 to appear on the General Election ballot next November.
There are no announced candidates for county supervisor on the Democratic ballot.
Auditor, Sheriff, County Attorney
Incumbent candidates, Auditor Michelle Eisenman, Britt, and Sheriff Robert Gerdes, Garner, are on the Republican ballot.
Rachel Martinez was appointed Hancock County Attorney in 2023 to fill a vacancy. She is on the Republican Party ballot as a candidate to fill the unexpired term of office.
There are no announced candidates for County Auditor, Sheriff or County Attorney on the Democratic ballot.
Iowa  House
District 56
Mark Thompson of Clarion is the Republican candidate for District 56 seat in the Iowa House of Representative.
Kyle Kruse of Hardy, Iowa, is the Democratic candidate for Iowa House District 56.
Both Thompson and Kruse are unopposed in the Primary Election and will face each other in the General Election next November. District 56 in the Iowa House includes all of Hancock and Humboldt Counties and a portion of Wright County.
Iowa Senate
District 28
Dennis Guth, Klemme, is seeking re-election as State Senator for District 28. Guth’s name will appear on the Republican Party ballot.
Cynthia Oppedal Paschen of Jewell, Iowa, is a Democratic candidate for the State Senate District 28. Her name will appear on the Democratic ballot.
Both Guth and Paschen are unopposed in the June 4 Primary Election and will face each other in November. District 28 includes Hancock, Wright, Humboldt, Hamilton, Franklin Counties and a portion of Story County.
U.S. House of Representatives
Incumbent Congressman Randy Feenstra (R-Hull) faces a Primary Election challenger for the Republican nomination. Feenstra’s opponent for the June 4 Primary is Kevin Virgil of Sutherland.
Ryan Melton of Nevada, is the Democratic candidate for Iowa’s District 4 Congressional seat.


The Leader

The Leader 
365 State Street, Garner, IA 50438
Phone: 1-641-923-2684
Fax: 1-800-340-0805

Mid-America Publishing

This newspaper is part of the Mid-America Publishing Family. Please visit www.midampublishing.com for more information.